top of page

The Petticoat for the Walkaway Dress

Tonight I started the petticoat for my retro pattern! I'm using this method: http://sugardale.blogspot.ca/2008/08/how-to-make-petticoat.html

It's going to be 3 tiers for a total length of 23.5". So 22.5 +1.5 Seam allowance. 24/3 is 8" per tier. I'm essentially using her pattern.. except I got EXTRA wide tulle, (108") so I can make about 4 of her style petticoat with her pattern and the same length of fabric. IT'S GOING TO BE SO POUFFY. YAAAAS. hahaha

Update: Here is the dress! It wasn't difficult so much as time consuming because there is just so much skirt to hem. Also adding to the time was the bias tape, I sewed each part twice- the first time with the raw edges together and then again when I folded the bias tape over. Whew! I'll take a photo of the petti when I get it home-- it's on display at the store :)


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Instagram Clean
bottom of page