top of page

That Time I Made My Wedding Dress


You're probably thinking "That's impossible!" but it's true. I sewed my own wedding dress. I gave myself a lot of time to take breaks and decompress from the stress of it and it turned out beautiful.

Was sewing my own a dream I'd had since I was a little girl? No. Definitely not. But my grandmother sewed hers and my aunts and since I'd already been sewing for years before I got engaged when someone mentioned I could do it the idea didn't seem so crazy. I wouldn't have even completed it if I wasn't encouraged so much by my friends (and the nightmare of wearing a paper bag since the dress wasn't finished.. HA!).

So I picked a pattern and got to work! I liked how this hugged the hips.

Cut out all the pieces on my lovely parchment paper. Pinned onto my dress form (this is one of my favourite images!) and started tweaking it from this point. I wanted the sweetheart top to be a tad more dramatic.

Ah, this is better. Please excuse the mess!

Parchment paper skirt attached.

I decided not to use an invisible zipper and instead use a corset back. Just in case I gained or lost weight before the wedding, this would ease my mind that it would fit. Making the loops only took an evening. I cut some satin on the bias, sewed one long tube. Then I made loops from it and attached it to ribbon. BOOM.

Testing it out on the muslin bodice. The gap didn't end up so big when finished.

All the lining pieces! Pinning the skirt to the bodice was a really emotional moment for me. It's starting to become a dress!

This is just some of the skirt satin. SO. MUCH. FABRIC.

Sewing the satin part of the bodice and inserting the corset loops.

Then I started on the lace. Cutting out the pieces and sewing them along the pattern on the lace so that the pieces go together with invisible seams. This is much better than just sewing in a straight line, but I had to do it by hand and this took a long time.

I attached the satin and liner layers together for the bodice, did the same for the skirt, then attached the skirt and bodice together. Here I'm basting the skirt and bodice together by hand because there is pleating in the front and I wanted to get the measurements perfect.

Here is the hem I did on my satin.

Pretty cute right? (The bow was temporary, just me playing around!)

...And I also added a pink petticoat using fuschia tulle and white crinoline!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Instagram Clean
bottom of page